Call your state legislators and urge them to ratify ERA

Read this excellent article by Ann Von Brock:

https://mountainx.com/opinion/tell-your-state-legislators-to-ratify-the-era/

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

New ERA Map

This map shows newly ratified Nevada.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Call to Action: Women’s Mobilization Monday, March 27

Dear NC Advocates,
All supporters for women’s equal rights are called to mobilize following historic ERA development!

Date:  Monday, March 27
Place:  House Gallery, NC General Assembly Bldg., 16 W. Jones St., Raleigh Time:  6:30 pm

Event:  Join us in calling for the inclusion of the female citizenry of North Carolina in the U.S. Constitution following Nevada whose legislators made history this week, passing the Equal Rights Amendment in both chambers of their legislature after 45 years since its passage by Congress.

Currently, North Carolina has two ERA bills, H102 and S85, sitting in the Rules Committees of the House and Senate chambers. Representative Carla Cunningham and Senator Floyd B. McKissick, Jr. are the primary sponsors of the bills, respectively. Supporters are advocating that the bills be re- assigned to committees where they will become a priority to be heard.

Rep. Cunningham will recognize the work of all the women and men in the gallery to secure equal rights for women and congratulate the ten counties and municipalities in NC that have passed an ERA resolution. Adoptions of ERA resolutions are rolling across the state since record-setting numbers of women’s rights advocates participated in the historic Women’s March in DC in January of this year.

Press Conference:  A press conference is scheduled earlier in the day at 3:00 pm in the legislative press room in the 1300 quadrant of the NCGA.

Legislators and members of organizations supporting women’s rights will call upon the leadership of the House and Senate to prioritize action on ERA bills H102 and S85.

CONTACT: Marena Groll, ERA-NC Alliance, Co-President, info@era-nc.org

About the ERA-NC Alliance:
The ERA-NC Alliance is a non-partisan, non-profit organization seeking ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment to the U.S. constitution. Membership is open to individuals and organizations committed to ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment. Lead organizations include the American Association of University Women of NC, Democratic Women of NC, League of Women Voters of NC, NC4ERA, NC Business and Professional Women, NC National Organization for Women, NC Women United, Ratify ERA- NC and the Women’s Forum of NC. The Alliance operates in direct collaboration with the national ERA Coalition (www.eracoalition.org).

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

A Message from Marena Groll, Co-Chair, ERA-NC Alliance

A development of historic proportions. After more than three decades, Nevada is poised to become the 36th state to ratify the ERA out of the 38 states needed to amend the United States Constitution. The Nevada Senate passed the ERA bill earlier. It is anticipated it will be heard by their State Assembly (House) committee next Tuesday. It will then put before their entire Assembly (House) on Wednesday, March 8 – International Women’s Day. This national ERA Coalition is reporting that bill is very likely to pass.

Advocates all across our nation will be tuning into the live stream broadcast of the vote on March 8 through the Nevada legislative site: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/ App/NELIS/REL/79th2017/ Meeting/5986?p=1005986

 Read more: http://www.cbsnews.com/news/ 34-years-later-nevada- lawmakers-revisit-equal- rights-amendment/

Facebook event here: https://www.facebook.com/ events/632158923662011/? active_tab=about

The ERA-NC Alliance is preparing a media statement.

Ladies, let us pull for our sisters in Nevada and appreciate what this means for the efforts here in North Carolina. We are a battleground state, but we can match any state in our efforts to be march forward as equals in this nation.

Who is with us?

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Let’s Make History by Ratifying the ERA

http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/mary-sanchez/article136318393.html#0

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Call to Action – contact House Rules Committee TODAY

URGENT CALL TO ACTION

Please email or call the House Rules Committee TODAY. The message:

  • I urge the Rules Committee to hold a hearing soon on H. 102, the Equal Rights Amendment.
  • I urge you to support and vote for the ERA to ensure equal rights for women and men.

Here are email addresses. You can send one email to all committee members:

NC House Rules Committee:

David.Lewis@ncleg.net, Ted.Davis@ncleg.net, Sarah.Stevens@ncleg.net, John.Szoka@ncleg.net, John.Torbett@ncleg.net, John.Bell@ncleg.net, John.Blust@ncleg.netJamie.Boles@ncleg.net, Bill.Brawley@ncleg.net, Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.net, Justin.Burr@ncleg.net, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net, Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net, Andy.Dulin@ncleg.net, Beverly.Earle@ncleg.net, Elmer.Floyd@ncleg.net, John.Fraley@ncleg.net, Ken.Goodman@ncleg.net,   Edward.Hanes@ncleg.net,   Jon.Hardister@ncleg.netKelly.Hastings@ncleg.net,   Darren.Jackson@ncleg.netLinda.Johnson@ncleg.net, Susan.Martin@ncleg.netChuck.McGrady@ncleg.netRobert.Reives@ncleg.net, Jason.Saine@ncleg.net,   Shelly.Willingham@ncleg.netMichael.Wray@ncleg.net

For more information about each legislator, visit www.ncleg.net/House

 

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

In honor of Women’s History Month, the Humanities department at A-B Tech invites you to attend a screening of the film _Equal Means Equal_ with panel discussion following. Panelists Roberta Madden, Angie Rock, and Leslie Boyd will focus on the history of the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) and the important work of Alice Paul. Hope to see you there!

Thursday, March 2, 2017
3:00pm-5:30pm
Ferguson Auditorium
A-B Tech Community College
340 Victoria Rd
Asheville, NC 28801

Posted in Events | Leave a comment

NC State Legislators Introduce ERA

Here’s a television report on today’s introduction of the Equal Rights Amendment in the NC General Assembly:

http://www.wral.com/lawmakers-push-ratification-of-1972-equal-rights-amendment/16529215/

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Please Take Action Now

CALL YOUR LEGISLATORS TODAY!

On Valentine’s Day, February 14, the Equal Rights Amendment will be introduced in both houses of the NC General Assembly.

Chief sponsors Sen. Floyd McKissick and Rep. Carla Cunningham will speak on the legislation at 2:30 pm in the legislative press conference room. Leaders of the ERA-NC Alliance will also speak at the news conference.

Time is short to recruit cosponsors, so please call your own House and Senate members today and urge them to cosponsor this ERA legislation. In 2015 one-third of the House members signed on. Let’s top that this time, and push the ERA to victory in 2017.

To find your lawmakers’ contact information, go to the legislative website: www.ncleg.net.

Posted in Events | Leave a comment

How do your legislators stand on the ERA?

Find your NC House and Senate members, then check to see whether they cosponsored the ERA in 2015, and also whether they responded to our candidate survey on ERA.

NCGA ERA Spread Sheet Feb 2017(2)

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment